Unhappiness/Happiness

I’m sad.  A LOT.

I was thinking about that this morning.  I think.  A LOT.  Maybe too much.

So I googled “is happiness possible.”   Yeah, I had nothing better to do this morning.  Actually, I have a lot to do this morning; I’m just wasting time.

I found a good article from Psychology Today about ways to boost happiness.  One of the suggestions in particular, “Investing in Relationships,” really caught my eye.  It said:

“One of the biggest factors in happiness appears to be strong personal relationships. Indeed, having the support of someone who deeply cares about you is one of the best remedies for unhappiness. Thus, this strategy involves putting effort into healing, cultivating, and enjoying your relationships with family and friends. Act with love, be as kind to the people close to you as you are to strangers, affirm them, share with them, and play together.”

One of the biggest factors in happiness appears to be strong personal relationships. Indeed, having the support of someone who deeply cares about you is one of the best remedies for unhappiness.

I’m not going to say I have an excuse for being unhappy, because I really am trying not to play the victim here, but if I did have an excuse for being unhappy, do you think this one might count???

 

This entry was posted in emotional abuse, marriage, passive aggressive, passive aggressive behavior, relationships and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Unhappiness/Happiness

  1. Unless we are completely antisocial and willing to live locked in a cage somewhere, the only thing we have are our relationships with others. Why not make them healthy ones? I know you can’t change him, but you can change how you interact with him or NOT interact with him. I’m curious how the classes and meeting new people and forming new relationships will help bring happiness to you in the coming months. Hang in there.

  2. Funny the things we google! I have googled “how to be happy” “what is a healthy relationship” “am I being abused” and a bunch of other things. Google has all the answers after all! Similar to the other poster – the only person you can change is you. I have realized this recently. I can change me, I cannot change him. The relationship I have with my husband can only go so far as long as he refuses to change or move forward. Hang in there.

Leave a Reply

