My speech

Last evening, I spoke at the Junior League monthly meeting.  The attendance last night was one hundred seven!  All of these ladies looked like they were in their twenties, which they probably were.

I had attended a New Choices program for displaced homemakers at the Women’s Resource Center in January.  Graduates of this program received a gift voucher of fifty dollars to the thrift store run by the Junior League.

The Junior League wanted a recipient from that program to come speak about what having that thrift store and that voucher meant to them and the coordinator of the program asked me to speak.

After I spoke, they gave me, as a thank you, another voucher, this one for twenty five dollars, and a gift bag with a travel coffee mug and ground coffee.  I’m not a coffee drinker, but the coffee smells so good!

I was asked to speak for just a couple of minutes and it went well. I received quite a few compliments.  One lady handed me this note:

“You are so well-spoken!  Thank you for sharing your story with us and best of luck with all your goals.  You are strong.  I can tell!

“All the best to you!

“P.S.  When I saw you walking down the stairs, I thought you were a new member – you look great!”

It was a good evening.

This entry was posted in covert abuse, emotional abuse, passive aggressive, passive aggressive behavior, relationships and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My speech

  1. Paula says:

    Wow! So amazing! What was your message? What did you share? I think programs like this are very inspiring to many. I hope you’re proud of yourself. :)

Leave a Reply

