How to Deal with Passive Aggressive People

#1 – Run for your life!

Oh.  No.  Wait.

Actually, there are other steps to explore first.

#1 – Realize that you are NOT crazy.  Passive aggressive behavior is real.

#2 – Learn all you can about passive aggressive behavior so you will recognize it.  This greatly helps with #1.

#3 – When you see that the other person is behaving in a passive aggressive way, calmly try to show him/her how he/she is behaving in a passive aggressive way.  Realize that this may not work, or only seem to work temporarily, so don’t take it personally.  Also, be careful with this one because passive aggressive people will often form relationships with codependent people.  And codependent people have a great tendency to try to “fix” the other person.  Therefore, #3 can actually perpetuate the problem, unless you can move on to #4.

#4 – Try to get the passive aggressive person to seek counseling to address the passive aggressive behavior and its sources.  Again, this may not work.  Often the people who most need help are the ones who are least likely to seek help.  However, if you can get the passive aggressive person to get the help they need, there is hope.

#5 – If #4 does not work, THEN run for your life.

This entry was posted in covert abuse, emotional abuse, marriage, passive aggressive, passive aggressive behavior, relationships and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to How to Deal with Passive Aggressive People

  1. Paula says:

    I think most women under 30 are codependent. Great post! :)

    • Yes, unfortunately, you are right! It makes me sad that I see codependence in my daughters, especially my younger daughter. I try to help my daughters and maybe they can learn from my mistakes. I with I had learned about codependence a LOT earlier in my life! Thanks for your comment! :)

  2. Pour_me says:

    why do your posts make me laugh like a crazy person? wait I’m not crazy…oh wait yes I am.

  3. PAs can do a pretty good job of pulling a front with their therapists, I should know, this is what my H does. HE has no problem with his anger, PA behavior, bullying, or manipulation. His therapist thinks he’s doing really well. [Oh awesome! Well then, call the guys with the straight jackets 'cause I need to go!] H can sit there and look me straight in the eye and tell me that all of this is a product of my imagination. It *never happened*.

    Riiiiiiight.

Leave a Reply

