I just wanted to be loved…

If I was good enough…  if I got good enough grades…  if I was skinny enough…  if I ran fast enough…  if I had clear skin…  if I wore the right clothes…  if I said the right things…  if I was righteous enough…  if I was respectful enough…

If I was patient enough…  if I was kind enough…  if I was skinny enough…  if nothing bothered me…  if I didn’t expect anything…  if I didn’t complain…  if I didn’t nag…  if I didn’t want too much…  if the house was clean enough…  if I made breakfast, lunch, and dinner…  if my children were well enough behaved…  if I didn’t spend too much money…  if I admired enough…  if I waited long enough…  if I was sexy enough…  if I did the right thing…  if I said the right thing…  if…  if…  if…

… then I could be loved.

Or not.

This entry was posted in covert abuse, emotional abuse, marriage, passive aggressive, passive aggressive behavior, relationships and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I just wanted to be loved…

  1. Been feeling the same way lately. We are good enough we just have to get them and everyone else out of our heads.

  2. iwonttakeit says:

    This is the worst part of this type of abuse, and it’s so hard to overcome. I understand your pain and I’m so sorry you feel this way. You are worthy of the kind of love you seek – keep looking :-)

  3. Paula says:

    You ARE enough! Just having a heart that can see the good in people and know when the bad in people has no place in your life is enough. There is no such things as perfection, but there is such a thing as being perfectly happy with who you are and who you will become once all the negative energy that surrounds you now is replaced with positivity. :)

Leave a Reply

