The first day of spring

Today is the first day of spring!  Whew!

Anyhow, today I attended a Fred Pryor Seminar about becoming an Outstanding Receptionist.  I like to think that I am already an outstanding receptionist, but I really enjoyed the seminar anyway.  I like learning new stuff (did you know that the more your arms are covered, the more authoritative you appear?) and I really enjoyed watching the presenter in the way she gave us the information and the way she interacted with her audience.  (Sometimes I think that when I grow up that I want to be a trainer/presenter/facilitator, but I’ll write more about that some other time.)

I found out about this seminar a few months ago and asked my employer if I could go.  So, the company paid for the tuition and paid me for the time.  Pretty cool, huh?  I’d like to go to more seminars, but I don’t know that they will pay for me to go, since I am “just” a receptionist.  Oh, wait.  I learned this morning that I wasn’t supposed to think of myself as “just” a receptionist.  I’m supposed to give myself a title like, um, well, “Office Goddess,” or something equally positive.  :}

On another note, after work I went to Michael’s, the craft store.  You know what?  Working as a receptionist in a corporate office, I really miss the creative part of of me.  When I was a stay at home mom, I did much more creative stuff.  I decorated and painted the walls and sewed stuff like curtains, and quilts, and clothes.  Sometimes I made jewelry.  And I gardened.  And I baked more often. I miss all the creative things I used to do.

I need to find a way to feel more alive so I can have more energy in the evenings to do a little bit of creative stuff so my soul doesn’t completely die.

Especially since it is spring.

This entry was posted in covert abuse, emotional abuse, marriage, passive aggressive, passive aggressive behavior, relationships and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The first day of spring

  1. Have you thought about evening adult ed classes? I know in my area they have all sorts of stuff from computer skills to cake decorating and knitting. Maybe even YOU could about how to run a class doing something crafty for other people!

Leave a Reply

