stay-at-home mom

Today I don’t have to leave for work  until almost two in the afternoon.  Our company is hosting a fairly large community event today and tomorrow and the Marketing department has asked me to work for them for these couple of days.  So I am.

My husband is at work.

My daughter, who still lives at home, has been visiting my brother and sister-in-law and their children (who adore her) this week, so I am home alone this morning.

It has been so nice!

I love being at home.  I was a stay-at-home mom for well over twenty years and I always loved being at home.

Yeah, often homeschooling was stressful and, yeah, sometimes dishes and laundry and grocery shopping and cooking got/get tiring.  But, overall, I love being at home.

This morning, I slept in a little.  That was always rare as I was raising my children, but I sure did enjoy it this morning!   I washed my sheets and made my bed – something I really like doing.  I cleaned my room a little and sent emails about the Toastmasters Club Contest that I am chairing.  The windows are open because the air is so nice today.  I LOVE that!  And even this afternoon when I go to “work,”  I get to be outside.

It’s all so pleasant and peaceful for me today.  Which is really nice.

I hope you are having a good day, too.

This entry was posted in covert abuse, emotional abuse, marriage, passive aggressive, passive aggressive behavior, relationships and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to stay-at-home mom

  1. Sofia Leo says:

    So nice to read a happy post from you! Enjoy your day :-)

  2. mixedemotions says:

    awh!! thanks so much, I was having a slightly grumpy day but you turned it around for me and reminded me of good times when I was a stay-at-home mom too :) I hope you enjoy you day dear…

  3. mourninglight says:

    Love the pockets of peace!

  4. Childofthetruth says:

    Ahhhhh! Now, THIS is loving yourself! Congrats! And enjoy.

  5. Teresa says:

    For the last 5 yrs my husband has worked out of our home….in May he was offered a position with another company, and he now leaves the house at 6am and gets home around 5pm….and I LOVE it!!
    I didn’t realize how having him around all the time was so emotionally exhausting for me! And he travels a lot more also…and sadly, I don’t miss him at all while he’s gone…and neither do our children…how sad is that?
    I am still recovering from the EA he had with a former girlfriend….so I think that also plays a part in being so emotionally exhausted….
    Enjoy your peaceful time, PAA….it’s a luxury when you live with a PAH!!!

    • mixedemotions says:

      I felt the same way when my husband travelled, I didn’t miss him for a second and neither did my kids, they even commented on how calm things were when he was gone…. unbelievable!! He doesn’t travel much anymore which is kind of a bummer because I truly enjoyed my time with my kids and my time alone as well. I’m glad for you though, at least you can breathe when he’s not home :)

  6. Teresa says:

    Thx mixedemotions…..my second oldest son said the same thing to me just the other day…”It’s nice when dad’s gone, everything is so calm around here”….He’s 23.
    Also, 2 weeks ago we had two of my sons friends visiting us for several days…the night before they were leaving, my 13 yr old sat next to me on the couch ( my H was out of town) and he told me “I wish they weren’t leaving” And I replied “I know, you’re going to miss them, aren’t you?” And he said “Yes, I will, but I know that once they’re gone, you and dad are going to start arguing again, when they’re here, you guys don’t argue and fight!” It about broke my heart!! He’s 13 for goodness sake!! What damaging are we doing??
    When my H got back a few days later I told him about what our son said….All I got out of him was “Well, that’s sad, maybe we shouldn’t argue anymore” Well DUH!!!! Like I enjoy it??
    Maybe you should stop being so dang PASSIVE AGGRESSIVE and go to counseling and get the freaking help you need??
    Instead I’M the one in counseling!! AGAIN!! Trying to learn how to deal with the pent up anger and resentment!!
    Stupid, Selfish man!!

Leave a Reply

