I wish you a wonderful Thanksgiving

I just put a twenty-five pound turkey in the oven!

I want to wish you all a wonderful Thanksgiving.

My sister and her husband and their four children arrived about noon yesterday.  My younger daughter and my sister spent all afternoon making beautiful desserts!    We have pumpkin pie and pecan pie and a dessert that we call Cranberry Apple Crumble Crisp.  I don’t think that is the original name for the dish, but it is now a family tradition to call it that.  We do it instead of apple pie.  My sister-in-law will make whipped cream for us when it is time for us to eat dessert.

My sister and daughter, and if I understand right, my brother-in-law, also did the prep for the dressing – chopping the onions and celery and cubing the bread.  It was so nice to come home from work last night and see everyone here and to smell the wonderful smells and to see the fruits of all their hard work.

Last night, I brined the turkey and now I’ve got it in the oven.  I put celery and onion in it and sprinkled it liberally with sage.  I tented it with foil so it will be wonderfully moist.

I cheated this year and bought rolls, but we’ll make mashed potatoes today, and the dressing, and I’ll make gravy.  My sister and my sister-in-law will put together a lovely vegetable tray.

My brother and his wife and their three children are planning to arrive sometime this morning.  We all get along so well and the cousins love playing together.   My older daughter will be missing, though.  She’s at college in another state and, because of her work schedule, she wasn’t able to come home for Thanksgiving.  We will miss her!!!

I love Thanksgiving!  My table will be sixteen feet long and I decorate it with a leaf-print table cloth and artificial leaves and little glass-like pumpkins and tea-lights in leaf candle holders.  My centerpiece candle is in a stylized pumpkin that I just love.  And I sprinkle glitter over everything so it all sparkles.  It is so wonderful!

Last night, my sister and her husband and little daughter stayed at a near-by hotel, and their three boys slept on my living room floor.  They’ll do the same again tonight.  My brother and his wife will also stay tonight at a hotel with their young son, and their daughters, plus my sister’s daughter, will stay the night at my house.  I love hosting Thanksgiving and I love sharing my house with my family for these few days.

I wish you a wonderful Thanksgiving, whatever your situation.  Please know that you, my blog readers, are part of my thankfulness this day.

This entry was posted in covert abuse, emotional abuse, family, marriage, passive aggressive, passive aggressive behavior, relationships and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I wish you a wonderful Thanksgiving

  1. I wish you a wonderful time x

  2. seriously says:

    Wishing you and all of your family the best Thanksgiving ever!!!!

  3. Karen says:

    That sounds like a wonderful time. I hope you had a very Happy Thanksgiving.

  4. Jwhowhat says:

    I am very thankful that I found this blog. Being able to communicate with like-minded, similarly-situated women has been awesomely amazing and helpful since I learned about my H ‘s PA and our relationship. Always so nice to know you’re not alone, ya know? thanks to all…..

  5. Enough Already says:

    Just wanted to day that I am thankful for you and your strength to blog. It has helped me in so many ways– I’m 27 and engaged toa PA for 2 yrs now. I only recently began understanding and realizing what was going on in our relationship. He’s getting counseling now, but I want you to know that your blog and your words helped me to find the strength to confront what he was doing. I hope you have a wonderful, happy, peaceful Thanksgivg and thank YOU again!

    • Jwhowhat says:

      God. Yay for u at age 27! How awesome that already r thinking/aware of the potential problems u face with a PA man. I was SO clueless for 48 f’ing years. I envy you. Be strong, sister.

Leave a Reply

