“prison dinner”

Last night, my husband made dinner.

I told my daughter that the food was ready and she could come get some food.

My husband and I sat down at the table to eat.

In case you don’t know, my daughter hides in her room when my husband is home.

I heard my daughter’s door open and then close again.  But she didn’t come out of her room.

I left the table and went into her room.  I asked her if she was going to get dinner.  She just looked at me and told me that she wasn’t hungry.

I asked her if it was because of him.  She nodded, yes.

I asked her if she was hunger.  Again, she nodded, yes.

I went back out to the kitchen and fixed her a plate of food and took it to her.  She told me thank you.

It made me think of those scenes in movies where they pass a tray of food to prisoners through a slot in the door.

Anyhow, after I finished eating dinner with him, I went and hung out with her for awhile in her room.  She like that.

And maybe it eased my guilt a tiny bit.

This entry was posted in codependency, covert abuse, emotional abuse, family, marriage, passive aggressive, passive aggressive behavior, relationships and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to “prison dinner”

  1. Newshoes says:

    Awh man… Sweetie please leave for your sake and your daughters. I can’t explain why right now but let’s just say that I ve been through a rough patch with one of the boys because of abuse… Pls pls pls think hard. Xo to you and daughter.

    • I know. My daughter doesn’t cut, but sometimes she scratches herself and digs her fingernails into herself, and while it doesn’t draw blood, it leaves marks and welts for awhile. It really scares me. Other times she is just fine, but sometimes I get really, really, really scared for her.

  2. Expat says:

    I don’t know what to say to this post, but you will get away one day. Don’t let expectations hold you back if there are any – like don’t hold out for a roomy cheap apartment for you and your daughter. Even if you have to go to a studio, go! The studio wouldn’t be forever and would be more welcoming then the house you are in now. When I left I rented a small bedroom in a house with two women where there were really no common areas except for the kitchen. Requirements: clean and close to walk to work. It wasn’t forever, but it was a stepping stone to getting away. Back then I didn’t know what his problem was and years later still wouldn’t. As long as your get away is quiet, safe and has utilities and a bed all you need :) No one will fault you if you have to get things from the goodwill or even by charity to get you on your feet. You deserve a happy, healthy life :) I hate to ask, but I will. You have many readers here, have you thought about putting up a link to an anonymous type fundraiser to help you leave?

Leave a Reply

