Johnnies

A couple of weeks ago in Toastmasters, during Table Topics, I got the question, how do you feel about the coming of winter?

In case you don’t know, Toastmasters is an organization dedicated to improving speaking and leadership skills.  And Table Topics is a session during the meeting where the Table Topics Master will ask a question, and the member called upon is then to answer the question “off the cuff.”  It helps in being a better impromptu speaker.

So, I talked about how I felt about winter.  I am from a warmer place than where I live now, so winter here is kind of hard for me.  I don’t like the cold and I especially don’t like it that the plants die or go dormant.

I went on to say, though, that I had found a way to combat winter.  I plant Violas.  Violas are small cousins to pansies and the original Violas were called Johnnie Jump Ups.  Even though the Violas I plant are hybrids of the Johnnie Jump Ups, I still call them Johnnies.  I talked about how Johnnies make me smile and help me to bear winter.  They are so cheerful and keep blooming even in the cold.

After I gave my little talk (Table Topics answers are only 1 to 2 minutes), I got an email from one of the men in my Club.  He often talks about health and how much thoughts and emotions can effect health.

Here is the beginning of what he wrote to me (the rest of the email was about some health related stuff):

[My name] – Exciting, Beautiful, Delightful, Refreshing, Joyful, Happy, and Always Smiling,

Please see yourself as other people see.  You are all of the above things.  In order to love Good and Others, you have to love yourself first.  You are the Johnny Jump up, Viola, to everyone’s day.

I cried.

This entry was posted in codependency, covert abuse, divorce, emotional abuse, family, marriage, passive aggressive, passive aggressive behavior, passive aggressive husband, relationships and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Johnnies

  1. WritesinPJ's says:

    Triple Like Love this post

  2. K says:

    Well, that there is confirmation of the awesome woman you are. Happiness!

  3. newshoes123 says:

    What a gift you got. That my friend, was unconditional love.

Leave a Reply

