losing my job and another therapist

I will be losing my job.

My company was bought by another company and my “position is being eliminated.”

I have about another month before my last day so at least I have a little time to look for something else.

On another note, I went to a new therapist.

This might sound funny, but she was so kind and so compassionate that it made me feel uncomfortable!  I’m much more used to being in a matter-of-fact environment than one of such utter care.  I think, though, that she will be very helpful.

She actually didn’t say a whole lot at the first appointment.  I did most of the talking.  But when I told her that I moved to sleep in the living room after he sexually assaulted me, she seemed truly shocked that I was the one who moved into the living room.  But we didn’t really discuss it.

We did talk a little about the fact that I feel like I don’t matter.   She wants to help me see that I do matter.

The counselor that I went to before helped me with that some, to see that I have intrinsic value.  But obviously, I have a lot more work to do.

The counselor that I went to before was a man.  I did tell him about the sexual assault, but I think this lady, this new therapist, will be able to help me more with it and with some of the other traumas in my life.

I really do hope so.  I feel like I made progress with the other counselor, but I also see that I still have a lot more healing to do.

This entry was posted in codependency, covert abuse, divorce, emotional abuse, family, marriage, passive aggressive, passive aggressive behavior, passive aggressive husband, relationships and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to losing my job and another therapist

  1. Masqued says:

    My ex was rather mysogynistic, and had always made lots of comments about never being the one to be ‘put on the couch’. I completely grasp the reasoning and desire to avoid conflict and just deal with the situation as best you can. Good for you for sticking with counseling, and so sorry to hear about the job. Fingers crossed for new opportunities for you!

  2. Sorry to hear about your job. I started a job I really liked in October and was told I was going to be kept on and moved to a better position just to be let go. It’s hard to find decent jobs that last.

Leave a Reply

