“I know you don’t like it when I ___, but…”

This morning he said, I need to tell you something but I don’t want you to get too upset.

I’m thinking, one of my chickens has died?

But, no.

He told me that he cut down some of our trees.

We have about 4.5 acres of land and most of it is trees.  I like the trees.  My daughter likes the trees.  Even he likes the trees.

But he needed to cut some of them down for his business.

Yeah, I don’t like it that he cut down some of the trees.   Trees take a long time to grow and get big and tall.

But what really got me was when he told me, “I know you don’t like it when I cut down trees, but I needed them.”

So, essentially, it does not matter to him what I like or do not like if it does not fit into his scheme of things.

Looking back over my life with him, he has always been like that.

What I like or do not like does not matter to him.  He basically does what he wants.   Just like a spoiled child.  Or a narcissist.

This entry was posted in covert abuse, emotional abuse, family, marriage, passive aggressive, passive aggressive behavior, relationships and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “I know you don’t like it when I ___, but…”

  1. wifeofpa says:

    he knows but he doesn’t care obviously, not sure what’s better, him telling you he knows or doing what you don’t like, either, he’s an ass.

  2. Wendy Powell says:

    He may (or may not) be a narcissist. I’ve written a piece, are you living with a narcissist that may help you figure it out. http://wp.me/p3scpP-n

Leave a comment