me and my big mouth

I signed up to give a speech in Toastmasters tomorrow.

I’m really not ready for it, but I’m pretty sure I can wing it.  I’m fairly good at Table Topics, which is the part of Toastmasters where you speak “off the cuff.”  So, I think I can handle this.

I hope!

Anyhow, this evening I told my husband I was going to give a speech tomorrow.

He asked me what I was going to talk about and I told him that I was going to talk about creating vision boards.

He asked what a vision board was.

I said – me and my big mouth – well, come to Toastmasters and hear my speech and I’ll tell you.

So now he has decided he is going to come listen to my speech.

Oh, I wish I had just kept my mouth shut!!!

There is stuff that I was going to say that I can’t say with him there.

And now I’m twice as nervous as I was before about giving the speech.  I’m always uncomfortable around him and this will be even worse.

He said he was going to come in his work clothes and I told him that everyone comes in their work clothes.  The only thing is, his work clothes are kinda grungy and most of the people in Toastmasters wear more business casual than grungy.  He’s doing this to show off, to show me up.  He’s going to go and be on his best behavior, even in his grungy clothes, and then people will say, oh, it was so nice of your husband to come to club and, oh, it was so nice to meet your husband.

There is a chance the weather will be bad enough that club will be cancelled, so here’s hoping….

But, man, oh, man, I wish I had just kept my mouth shut.

This entry was posted in codependency, covert abuse, divorce, emotional abuse, family, marriage, passive aggressive, passive aggressive behavior, passive aggressive husband, relationships and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to me and my big mouth

  1. Seeing the Light says:

    I know it wouldn’t be easy, but why don’t you just be completely up front with him and ask him not to come. Simply admit that you spoke before you thought and after thinking about it, you are not comfortable with him being there. We have had to do this with mine. My children have been uncomfortable having him at sporting events and certain school functions and we have had to tell him straight out that he should not attend.

    • I should have said something stronger than “ask” him not to come. It would be more like informing him that he is not welcome and requesting his assent that he understands and will comply.

  2. ChickenLadyMovedToTown says:

    Dang it! I hate it when I do things like that too! I’m hoping that you will go ahead with your original planned presentation. Maybe he needs to hear it? Perfect opportunity for him to see you shine like a star.

  3. newshoes123 says:

    I’m sure you did great!! who cares if he’s there, you are a wonderful speaker, go for it and forget he’s even there…

  4. paescapee says:

    How did it go? I’d like to know too!

Leave a comment