my new position at work

Friday, a week ago, I was offered a new position at work!

(I didn’t write about it sooner because I had to do some detective work to be sure my husband still doesn’t know about my blog.)

I have been the receptionist and I reported to the Finance supervisor.

The Director of Marketing offered me a new position.  This was not anything that I applied for.  It was created for me and offered to me!

Basically, it’s like this:

I will still be the receptionist.  I will also now officially be helping the other departments I have already been helping.  I will start assisting the director of yet another department.  The marketing department will be using me much, much, much more of me and I will report to the Director of Marketing.

My new title is “Receptionist and Corporate Assistant.”

I like it!

When I applied for the other jobs that I applied for at my company in the past few months, I felt like I would miss doing the things I do as a receptionist and I would miss my desk and especially my window.  I get to say hi to everyone who comes in and out and I like that.  There is a huge window behind my desk that looks into our gorgeous Board Room and then out the even huger window on the other side of the Board Room.  I say that I have the best view in the whole office.

So I get to keep my desk and my window and the things I like doing.  Plus, I get to be busy now!!!  It’s kind of funny – I’m almost more excited about the being busier part than I am about the money part!

And, yes, a raise came with the new position.  Starting Monday, I will be making twenty-five percent more than I have been making!!!

Is it enough to leave?  I’m not sure yet.  Part of that will depend on what my paycheck looks like with all the deductions – taxes, insurance, HSA, 401(k) – taken out.  And part of it depends on what I can find to rent.

I’ve been at this company for a little over a year.  This company is growing while many similar companies aren’t.  I like this company and I am glad to be a part of it.  It’s nice, too, that the company has recognized that I have potential and has started to make more use of my potential.

I’m thrilled with my new position at work!!!

This entry was posted in covert abuse, emotional abuse, family, marriage, money, passive aggressive, passive aggressive behavior, relationships and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to my new position at work

  1. rougedmount says:

    do not NOT tell him of the promotion or pay increase.. if you have mail coming to the house..with paystubs or something.. rent a po box and direct things there… CONGRATS! this is awesome news!

    • I was thinking the same thing, but eventually tax returns come and the cat would be out of the bag. It wouldn’t be a problem if “I’m getting out” had changed status to “I’ve gotten out” but my instinct tells me to ask a lawyer for both pragmatic and legal advice. [random thoughts here] It could make the divorce process messier if he’s the type to retaliate. Hmmm…

  2. Sofia Leo says:

    Congrats! I second rougedmount’s comment – keep your new wages to yourself.

  3. Hooray! What a great self-esteem boost for you. It is wonderful to have found a bright spot amongst the clouds.

  4. K says:

    Congratulations! Well done!

  5. Karen says:

    Congratulations! I am very happy for you. I know you try so hard.

  6. Congratulations! I’m really pleased for you :D

  7. Jwhowhat says:

    Yay for you!!! You actually are beginning to think you might leave, huh, if you can work it out financially? Awesome for you. Congratulations. And absolutely do not tell your H. Not yet

  8. wifeofpa says:

    doesn’t matter how much more you get at this point, it must feel kinda amazing to get that validation from your colleagues that you are so WORTH it :) congrats!!

Leave a comment